PLEASE do as I say and not as I do!

This honest plea comes from a Christian who often sees inconsistency between her words and her practice. Of course, I am not proposing that hypocritical living is commendable. I am simply saying that when I counsel others to believe and apply the Word of God it is my deep desire they heed this counsel despite the fact I fail to do this myself all too often. Though I so desire to “walk the talk” faithfully, I am so thankful the objectivity of God’s Word doesn’t depend on the subjectivity of my obedience on any given day. This encourages me to move forward in ministry on days I more keenly recognize I am not fit for the task.

My pastor, many years ago, told me how sanctifying ministry was to him.  I thought I understood him then but I think I am only now beginning to understand what he really meant. Oftentimes, on days I am tempted to doubt God’s goodness, or presence, or sovereignty, or forgiveness, I find myself needing to proclaim these very truths to others. What a blessing this is to me! Not only because these truths offer real comfort to others, but because they offer real comfort to me. They reorder my thinking and enable me to rightly interpret the world. The Spirit challenges me to believe and repent even as I challenge others to do the same. I am realizing more and more that counseling is indeed “one sinner telling another sinner where to find bread.”

A dear counselee and friend once told me something along these lines, “you know, all I need to do is record you once and then you don’t need to come see me any more.  You pretty much say the same things over and over.” She meant it as compliment and I have considered it to be one of the most encouraging compliments I have received in ministry, The truth is that I am pretty much a one trick pony. As a biblical counselor,  the most essential thing I bring to the table is not own my wisdom or example but Christ as revealed in the Word. Since Christ is preeminent, since He is the creator and sustainer, and since He is the beginning and the end, all my counsel must start and finish with Christ- his divinity, his humanity, his sacrifice, his victory! Yes, nuanced, oftentimes complex, and always applied compassionately to the situation but, at the end of the day, Christ and his Word must speak more loudly than any experiential wisdom I may bring to the table. So, yes, many times counseling sessions are going to look eerily similar.  I am thankful for this, and I exhort you (and me) to always seek counsel that doesn’t stray from Christ as the solution for soul issues.

So, what are the truths that I find myself needing to say over and over?

God is sovereign AND he is good.  Just allow your mind to go to the cross of Christ for a second.  The substitutionary atonement for our sin, the greatest act of goodness known to man, was planned and executed by God himself.  So, when you doubt God’s love- look to the Cross where sacrificial love reigns supreme.  When you doubt his mercy, look to the Cross where mercy and justice kiss.  When there is no relief in sight and you doubt God’s power, remember out of the greatest tragedy- the Cross- came the greatest victory.

The Word of God must inform our circumstances at all times; and we should not allow circumstances, as hard as they may be, to hijack our hearts and make us doubt his promises.    Suffering has a way of shaking us to the core. Oftentimes, in times of darkness, we begin to doubt everything we have believed in times of light.  Is God really there? Has he forsaken me?  Am I really his?  Does he really answer prayer?  The Word everywhere teaches that God’s people suffer. And, it everywhere teaches that God will never  forsake his people, using all circumstances for our good and his glory.  Choose to believe this. If you are struggling to do so, cry out to God “I believe, help my unbelief.”   Our fallen flesh, the world, and Satan will constantly attempt to make our circumstances preeminent.  We must fight against this by renewing our minds with the Word moment by moment, and seeking help from the Savior who is a present help in times of trouble.

There is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.   Reminding a believer of his past sin, thereby producing debilitaiting feelings of guilt, shame and doubt, is surely among Satan’s favorite activities. The Word teaches us that forgetting we have been cleansed from our sins  (that is, forgetting the gospel) makes us ineffective Christians. Satan knows he cannot thwart God’s ultimate purpose in the lives of  believers but, by dredging up the sins of our past, Satan can paralyze us and drive us inward, detracting us from our main call to love God above all else and to love neighbor as we love ourselves. We must strive to remember we have been forgiven to the utter most. Christ has born the guilt and shame of our sin and has imputed to us his perfect righteousness. Do you believe this? If so, who is there to condemn?

Jesus is our sympathetic Advocate.  He was tempted in every way, yet without sin. He was tempted to doubt, to give up, to unrighteous anger, to retaliate, to run, to hide, etc.  He is able to help us in ways no one else can because no one else is in union with us as he is. His understanding of our need and weakness runs deep,  his compassion is without parallel, his advocacy before the Father is perfect.  May we never hesitate to run to Him for help so that we might find grace and mercy in our time of need.

Our identity is rooted in Christ.   What exactly does this mean?  It has many profound implications. But simply, as a believer, our very being and worth are defined by the infinite and unchanging nature of Jesus to whom we are united.   In Christ, we are his beloved, his bride, his treasured possession, a child of God and co-heirs with Christ. Like a woman who takes on the name of her husband when married, in an infinitely more profound way, we take on the name of Christ- we belong to him and he belongs to us eternally. Our lives are forevermore, inextricably and perfectly, woven with Christ’s. His promise ring is the Holy Spirit which indwells us. No earthly diamond can compare! Let’s fight the temptation to be defined by our possessions, occupations. relationships, accomplishments, deseases, successes, failures, etc. Let’s cry out from the depths of our soul “It is no longer I who lives, but Christ who lives in me.”

Faithfully apply the means of grace. Christianity is not a self-help program or system, it is a relationship with Jesus Christ.  As with all relationships, it takes effort to get to know a person and cultivate intimacy. How do we grow in our relationship Christ? God has given us these ordinary yet supernatural means: his Word, prayer, participation in the sacraments, and ongoing fellowship with the body of Christ.  Let’s not allow busyness to keep us from making use of these tender provisions. Instead, let’s view these as precious gifts from our Heavenly Father given to us for our good and sustenance. But please do not stop at the means and miss the Person. Look beyond the means, and with sincerity of heart, seek Christ as a thirsting deer seeks for water. Let’s seek him with deep conviction that our very lives depend on communion with Him.

Come quickly, Lord Jesus!  Following the benediction at the end of our worship services, our congregation responds with this phrase.  I’ve told our pastor, more than once, that this is my favorite part of the service.  Though I say this somewhat in jest, he certainly understands what I mean and wholeheartedly agrees. The Scriptures teach us we are sojourners in this world and our true citizenship is in heaven.  Our hearts long for something far better. Our great hope is that one day we will be face to face to Jesus worshiping him completely devoid of our sin, with no more suffering or pain or broken relationships.  Allow your mind to dwell on this everyday and I’m almost certain you’ll be encouraged.  The Apostle Paul, inspired by the Spirit, writes that his suffering (severe beatings, imprisonment, hunger, abandonment, persecution, betrayal, etc.) were light and momentary in comparison to the glory that awaits believers in heaven.  Can you imagine the joy that will be ours on that day…and for eternity? Indeed, come quickly, Lord Jesus!

Oh, how I wish I could say that these truths fill my heart and inform my mind all the time!  They don’t but I am so thankful they are true regardless. I pray you draw encouragement from them even now- it certainly has done my soul good to think on these things today. May the Lord grant me grace upon grace to better model the Christian life that I might be able to say humbly yet confidently “follow me as I follow Christ.” But, in the meantime (until eternity, that is), please do as I say and not as I do.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “PLEASE do as I say and not as I do!

  1. Gail says:

    Thank you, CB, I needed this reminder today.

Leave a comment